From a technical standpoint, there's no reason why the recipe should have to be stopped first in order to add/edit this kind of metadata. That would be a big improvement. I realize that people will usually want to add/edit notes when they're making changes to the recipe, which would require it to be stopped first, but in our case we're trying to document recipes that a previous developer didn't adequately document when they were being built, so no changes are necessary.
This becomes a greater issue for bigger customers who can't stop recipes except during announced maintenance periods.
Send us a ticket, we will try our best to assist you with your problem